Standing Desks and Quotes to Get Your Day Going

Yeah, I realize it’s early afternoon, but some of us <coughmecough> are still trying to get our day going. So therefore, this quote:

Never confuse movement with action.

–Ernest HemingwayHemingway

This thought is especially poignant for me today. I have a lot of work I could do (as usual), and I have managed to get myself out of bed, showered, dressed, and in front of the computer. I have also spent quite a bit of time on Twitter, Facebook, the Huffington Post (did you know about this Gweneth Paltrow/Vanity Fair scandal? I know, right?). I sent out two important emails this morning *pat on the back* and I have finally set up the standing desk that I have been thinking about for a while. It’s not perfect, but to paraphrase Voltaire,

The perfect is the enemy of the good.

voltaireI’m just full of cute little quotes today. These two happen to work hand in hand, however. Voltaire reminds me to, “Get started, already!” and Hemingway shakes his head and is all like, “Do something more than look at the HuffPo, already, willya?”

True dat, Ernie.

So here is the standing desk. If anyone has a suggestion for a better computer riser than a binder, please let me know. standing desk

P.S. Hidden benefit of the standing desk: when funky music comes on (i.e. E.U.’s “Da Butt” which is playing right now)– I can actually dance instead of just seated-arm-dance. Sweet.

3 responses to “Standing Desks and Quotes to Get Your Day Going

  1. I feel better knowing that someone out there is dancing to “Da Butt” today:) Thanks for taking the responsibility off of my overloaded shoulders.

  2. I had a coaching client who used to say that perfection / good quote all the time + it became one of my favorites.

    Hooray for the standing desk! Dance parties and work go hand-in-hand.

Leave a Reply

