gratitude

It’s easy to look at what our friends have, or our perception of what they have, and become jealous. Social media makes the act of Keeping up with the Jones even more difficult, because we can see into another person’s living room via their webcam, but we cannot really know their life. The old adage of walking a mile in another man’s moccasins is harder to do when you hardly talk to people face-to-face anymore.

And so I struggle to remember to be grateful. Not just for my material possessions, but also for the gifts of people and talents in my life. I don’t really know how hard other people work at their jobs or when they come home. To pretend to know what others do when I am not there is futile and hurtful to both of us. Jealousy of others’ possessions or talents doesn’t hurt them, it hurts me, and it stifles my creativity.

For 3 months now, I have been keeping a gratitude wall in our kitchen, adding to it when I have felt the urge, but not erasing. Today I am going to erase them (think of it as a quarterly rewrite) and start over. I know some of them will be repeated, but as I move into the fall I want to focus on new feelings of gratitude with my new goals.

Leave a Reply

