I am a _____________-er

“Musicians ask each other ‘have you been writing?’ the way alcoholics ask each other ‘have you been going to meetings?'”–Scott Helton

My friend Scott and I were discussing writing the other day, and he brought up this tweet he posted. It got me to thinking (I know, dangerous) about all of the things that we do on a daily basis. If you write daily, that should make you a writer, and if you sing daily (I do not, and you should all be thankful of that), that would make you a singer. If you make music daily, would that make you a musicer? Ha.

What I do know is that I try to write daily. The impetus and the inspiration are there. There is not always the time. And I know that there are some of you out there who are yelling at the screen, “Well make time!” and I hear you.

Think about all of the things you make time for in your day: sleeping, eating, going to Starbucks (or some cooler substitute), reading, watching TV, exercise, playing with the dog or children, talking on the phone.

Besides a work-er, what are you? Fill in the blank: I am a __________–er

8 responses to “I am a _____________-er

Leave a comment