Prepare Thyself, and Savor It!

This past week has been all about preparations for our trip to South America that begins on Monday. I have felt alternately stressed and serene this week, but mostly hand-shaking, bouncing-in-my-seat excited. I have tried to capture and feel all of these moments, because they, too, are part of the experience.

Not long ago, I read Gretchen Rubin‘s The Happiness Project, and one of the things she discusses is the importance of savoring the preparations just as much as the event, especially because those preparations can end up lasting so much longer than the event themselves.

I believe Rubin uses this point in the context of buying a new pair of shoes vs. hosting a party (don’t quote me on this Rubin-ites!, I don’t have the book in front of me), and this is a theory I can get behind, especially recently. I love buying clothes, shoes, new shampoo, anything. But that rush that you feel when you buy that something new wears off pretty quickly. But the buildup to hosting a party or taking a vacation has a different feeling. For the past week, Max and I have been in that first-day-of-school adrenaline bubble because nearly everything in our lives is centered around this trip. I get butterflies every time I walk by the dining room table that is quickly filling up with travel-sized shampoo bottles (ok so I’m not totally immune to buying stuff) and Wet-Ones, obvious must-haves. These things cost very little. But I also feel that way when I walk by the giant kitchen white board that is filled with our “To Take,” “To Get,” and “To Do” lists… and then again when I cross something off the list. Nothing is crossed off completely–just one finger swipe through it, so we feel like we’ve accomplished something.

So to get back to the point, this one week of preparations is not longer than the 3 weeks we’ll be on vacation, but Max started thinking about this trip 18 months ago. We’ve talked about it for so long, and now it’s finally happening. I know he’s a little nervous, but I’m trying to savor every second, even this silly prep period.

On another note: I don’t have a picture to go with this, so here’s a picture of my garden.

my veggie garden

I think it’s an appropriate picture because it’s something that gives back to us every day with very little work or money, and I get happy every time I walk by! I love it so much, and I’m really sad to leave it for the next few weeks. I know it will be in Adrien’s capable hands, and I hope I will have a life-sized tomato or two when I get back!

One response to “Prepare Thyself, and Savor It!

Leave a Reply

